Asia-Pacific Academy of Materials (APAM) - Special Lecture Series
Asia-Pacific Academy of Materials (APAM) - Brochure

About MRSI

Bharat Ratna Prof CNR Rao FRS is the Founder President of Materials Research Society of India (MRSI) which was established in 1989. This society is interdisciplinary in nature by covering various fields of Materials Science and Engineering in India. Currently, the MRSI is headed by Dr Suresh Das, Kerala State Council for Science, Technology & Environment (KSCSTE) and Former Director of CSIR – NIIST, Thiruvananthapuram. The MRSI is committed to stimulate, integrate and facilitate research activities in the broad areas of Materials Science and Engineering in the country. It is also committed to involve industries to participate and develop various useful products indigenously. Hence, the main objectives of the MRSI meetings are to promote advancements in Materials Science research, to share recent developments and innovations, and to establish active interactions among scientists, technologists, engineers and other researchers engaged in basic or applied research in India.

About The Symposium

The MRSI symposium on "Advances in Functional and Exotic Materials" (AFEM-2018) and 29th Annual General body Meeting are jointly organized by the Centre for High Pressure Research, School of Physics, Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli – 620 024 and MRSI – Trichy Chapter and are scheduled to be held at SRM Hotel, Tiruchirappalli during February 14 -16, 2018. The event would comprise of Plenary lectures, Invited lectures, Medal Lectures, MRSI honor lectures, Best thesis award presentations, Oral presentations etc. along with contributed poster presentations covering the latest works of the Materials Science community of the country. The main tasks of the Symposium are to provide a forum for the participants to explore the latest developments in the field of materials in India and Abroad and to formulate guidelines for further research and developments in the country.

About Bharathidasan University (BDU)

Bharathidasan University, named after the great Revolutionary Tamil Poet, Bharathidasan (1891-1968), was established in February 1982. The motto of the University is "We Will Create a Brave New World". The University endeavors to be true to its vision by creating a brave new world of academic innovation for social change in this part of the country. Bharathidasan University has been reaccredited with an 'A' grade by NAAC. The university has grown with an excellent Research base, offering Post Graduate and Research programs through 35 Schools, Departments and Centers. The campus is located in a sprawling area of over 550 acres of land on the Tiruchirappalli - Pudukkottai Highway (NH 210). Besides this main campus, there is a city campus at Khajamalai.

About MRSI Trichy Chapter

The MRSI - Trichy chapter has been approved by MRSI, Bangalore on November 2015. Prof. S. Arumugam has been nominated as the Chairman of MRSI - Trichy Chapter on 12th November 2015 and MRSI Trichy Chapter was inaugurated on 28th January 2017. The MRSI Trichy chapter covers southern part of Tamil Nadu which includes Tiruchirappalli, Karur, Thanjavur, Salem, Pudukkottai, Nagapattinam, Dindigul, Madurai, Coiambatore, Kanniyakumari, Tirunelveli, Namakkal, Ariyalur, Perambalur, Thoothukodi, Ramanathapuram,Theni and Sivagangai districts and till date 120 life members have enrolled.

About The Centre for High Pressure Research (CHPR)

The Centre for High Pressure Research (CHPR) was established at Bharathidsan University in January 2008. The research activities of the CHPR have been encouraged and supported through various research projects funded by DST – SERC , DST - SERB, CEFIPRA, DRDO, BRNS , DMRL – CARS, AICTE, CSIR , DST – DAAD –PPP , DST – JSPS, DST – Russia, and DST – Switzerland. The main focus of the centre is to investigate the physical properties of various strongly correlated systems such as High Tc Superconductors, Heusler alloys, Dirac Metals, Manganities ,Spin Ladders, DMS, Topological Insulators, Semimetals and Superconductors , etc in order to elucidate the mechanism of superconductivity and to understand the physics of novel materials under extreme conditions. The CHPR is equipped with 9 T PPMS – VSM, CCR – VTI, Powder X – Ray, Diamond Anvil Cell, Micro Drilling Machine, Laser Pressure Calibration System, Piston Cylinder Pressure cell, Bridgman Anvil Pressure cell and Modified Bridgman Anvil Pressure cell.

The suggested Sub themes of the symposium

Superconductors Magnetic Materials Magneto caloric Materials Magneto electric Materials Heusler alloys
Linear and Nonlinear Optical Materials Pyro electric Materials Ferroelectric Materials Dirac Metals Pyrochlore Materials
Dielectric Materials Organic Conductors Polymers Multi ferroics Sensor/Biosensor
Solar energy Materials Hydrogen storage Materials Fuel Cells Battery Materials Carbon Materials
Topological Insulator / Semiconductor /
Chalcogenides Ceramics Composites Crystal Growth
Thin Film Technology Building Materials Diluted magnetic semiconductor Pressure effect on Strongly Correlated Materials Nano Materials and Computational methods

Contact Us

Prof. S. Arumugam
Chairman & Secretary - MRSI Trichy Chapter
Coordinator - Centre for High Pressure Research
School of Physics, Bharathidasan University
Tiruchirappalli – 620 024. India


TEL:+91- 431- 2407118
Ph: 91 – 9500 910 310
FAX:+91- 431- 2407045